Affordable Valve Amp?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by IzNoGoud, Dec 18, 2005.

1. IzNoGoud

IzNoGoud

Hi,
    My name is Nelson, i'm new at the forum. ;P
    I'm also new in the "Valve/Tube World", so i need some help.

I've Read about some Class A SE, PP, and Class AB, and many more... but i really don't know what's the best for me :(

I'm thinking on a nice/good integrated stereo valve amp in the range of 350€-1000€ "cheaper the best :p lol"

Some help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Nelson Gaspar

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2005
    IzNoGoud, Dec 18, 2005
  2. IzNoGoud

Tenson Moderator

You definitely want to check out the Chinese imports. Try www.cattylink.com to start you off. They are very trust-worthy, even if their site seems a little dodgy looking! :JPS:

Check out the Cayin (AKA Spark) A-88T amp. I had one of these for a while and if you like the smooth tube sound that also has lots of detail this is a good one for you. I'm not sure if it is listed on their site but if not ask Snowy about it. I think its about US$1,000 so might just be able to fit it in to your budget with shipping.

Ming-Da is also very good if the Cayin is a little expensive. I have a MC-7R pre amp and like it a lot. Kills for the money! Others on here have their integrated amps ;)

Tenson, Dec 18, 2005
  3. IzNoGoud

lordsummit moderate mod

The Ming-Da M34A is a bit of a giant killer. It makes a lovely noise. I've been running one for nearly 12 months now and have no grumbles. It's much the same as Ican Audio's 40i, which would be another good bet for you if you bought one second hand.

lordsummit, Dec 18, 2005
  4. IzNoGoud

bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

Nelson you don't say what speakers you use, or how much power you are looking for.

Also, whether you would look at a self-build kit, or just built up. Second hand or new also?

For NEW (only) I would also go to Cattylink, although I'd favour a different amp if I had 1,000 euro.