Allen Organ custom stereo console 1960s

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by KeithJacoby, Mar 12, 2022.

1. KeithJacoby

KeithJacoby

Hi I'm a newbie, recently blacklisted from VinylEngine (apparently)...☹️
    I'm looking for a community to bounce ideas off of, as I restore my uncle's prized hi-fi console to it's original glory. Brief description: it was built in Macungie PA in mid 60s when they were doing custom units but I think they only did a few hundred as mine is numbered 267 on the back plate. It's kit consists of a Dyna factory built PAs2 preamp with original telefunken tubage, an all original, perfectly operating FM3 tube tuner, a garrard changer that I replaced with a Dual 1229 I restored (sorry Brit friends!) And original jensen 3 way speakers (all alnico with 12" woofers) that I re-networked. It's amps (mono Allen solid states) are rather weak so I dropped in an adcom 60 wpc power amp for now, but the hope is to get a proper period stereo tube amp in there some time soon. It also came with 2 speaker cabinets (open back) that I'm experimenting with. I had some donor Klipsch speakers that I put in a new baffle and loaded the drivers and xover, so far so good--they sound better than I expected.
    I'd be interested in this community's thoughts. I've got the distinct impression that this rig in it's largely original condition is very rare, so I'm trying to keep it original but some things just needed help (TT, amplifier).
    Thank you!
    KeithJ

Attached Files:

KeithJacoby, Mar 12, 2022
  2. KeithJacoby

Sergeauckland

Restoring such a piece of vintage equipment is a Labour of Love.

Do you keep it original? In which case, you need to put back the Garrard changer, and restore that if it's not working properly, then restore the electronics. The results will in no way be 'HiFi', but they will be original.

Do you just use the woodwork as a piece of furniture, and replace the electronics with something modern?