Best classical recordings on vinyl

Discussion in 'Classical Music' started by sammyo, Aug 2, 2009.

1. sammyo

sammyo

I am just getting into vinyl. Is there an established guide/book of reviews/magazine that covers the best recordings (and ideally has reviews of several recordings of different pieces of music)?

I am interested in great performances as well as great audio quality so I would like to read the thoughts of someone who's thought about it more than just recommending old Decca, Mercury, RCA shaded dogs, etc. (See how much I've learnt already this morning!)

sammyo, Aug 2, 2009
  2. sammyo

Soloist In my lonely furrow

Rough guides are a start. A bit out of date but gives a reference point. Labels are definately a broad indicator of quality of artists, orchestra, production, etc. Enjoy the trip!

Soloist, Aug 2, 2009
  3. sammyo

sammyo

Yeah, I'm familiar enough to get a broad sense of things, I'm at a higher level than that. I know that Deutsche Gramophon have great performances but not quite so great recordings. But you hardly need to know different record labels to guess that the Berlin Philharmonic & Karajan are going to do Beethoven 9 better than most or that Solti is a decent bet for Wagner. I'm really after something a little more specific on a piece-by-piece recording-by-recording basis.

Like the Gramophone Good CD Guide but for vinyl.

One thing I was thinking (given the piddling amount of new classical vinyl recordings) is that there might have been an old Gramophone guide (say, the 1989 edition) that would give me the sort of information I am after. Any ideas?

sammyo, Aug 2, 2009
  4. sammyo

alanbeeb Grumpy young fogey

A Penguin guide from late 1980s might be your best bet. Since then the classical Market has been dominated by CD - and remember that in the real world outside of hifi buffs, most people are interested in the music, not the media!