clocks....

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by julian2002, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. julian2002

    I-S Good Evening.... Infidel

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a world of pain
    I still haven't got around to putting the clock 2 I've got lying around into my CD53. It's a bit more involved than normal because the clock is the wrong frequency (deliberately...), but at some point I'll do it (once I get that project back on again... moving house and lack of a suitable power supply put it on hold). However, that project involves intercepting the I2S in the player and feeding into a PCM=>PWM amplifier, so differences to the output might be hard to quantify.

    My comments regarding how worthwhile clocking the CD6000 would be stem from previous experience. I had a Rotel 991, which gained a fair bit when clocked and psued(despite being a pretty low jitter starting point), but then it was walked over as a transport into my superDAC by a stock marantz CD16. With a trichord DOB in the marantz, it's further ahead. So I think it's not worth spending £300 on a Clock 4 and NC psu to put into a sub £300 rrp player which has various other limitations on its performance, especially when considering that the CD16 only cost me £300.
     
    I-S, Mar 10, 2005
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. julian2002

    gpc1

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    In a way i agree with you isaac. My cd player is limited in the amount of worthwhile upgrade. Spending 150 on a clock4 175 on a psu plus having to buy the solder iron etc is a little excessive and wouldnt be cost effective IMHO.

    I would rather get a decent improvement on a smaller budget...more bang for your buck kinda thing.

    Gpc
     
    gpc1, Mar 10, 2005
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. julian2002

    I-S Good Evening.... Infidel

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a world of pain
    In which case look at the clock 2 or a DAC (or both... simple DACs such as the superDAC and nosDAC will benefit from clocking the CD player). But there is no point getting carried away.
     
    I-S, Mar 10, 2005
    #43
  4. julian2002

    rsand I can't feel my toes

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    just not sure where it is? there is no silver canistered block which i expected

    pics deleted to help dial up users
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2005
    rsand, Mar 10, 2005
    #44
  5. julian2002

    I-S Good Evening.... Infidel

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a world of pain
    Can't tell from those pics. If you bring it tonight I'll have a look.
     
    I-S, Mar 10, 2005
    #45
  6. julian2002

    rsand I can't feel my toes

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    My suspision is the black box on here? this is the dac section.
    pic deleted
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2005
    rsand, Mar 10, 2005
    #46
  7. julian2002

    I-S Good Evening.... Infidel

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a world of pain
    That's a relay.
     
    I-S, Mar 10, 2005
    #47
  8. julian2002

    rsand I can't feel my toes

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Found it
    [​IMG]
     
    rsand, Mar 10, 2005
    #48
  9. julian2002

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    that be there a clock (Crystal Oscillator ) Richard yes
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2005
    wadia-miester, Mar 10, 2005
    #49
  10. julian2002

    rsand I can't feel my toes

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Interesting to note that the clamp is a similar green to the SID disks and fabled pen. And on your Wadia by the looks of it.
     
    rsand, Mar 10, 2005
    #50
  11. julian2002

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    All VRDS mechs have a green platter Sir. Even the new all Metal ones
     
    wadia-miester, Mar 10, 2005
    #51
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.