Connections and the DAC64?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by chris.gally, Oct 13, 2003.

  1. chris.gally

    chris.gally

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Hello..

    Does the DAC64 invert polarity on all its inputs/outputs or just the AES/EBU?

    Reason being, i've now changed my transport to a Sony SCD-777ES :D , which, for red-book will be through the DAC64, and for SACD, straight into the amp.

    If it does invert, is there an easy way of re-reversing :)D) the polarity without having to get up and change the cables in the back of the speakers every time i change from CD to SACD?

    I'm using a Chord Prodac digital cable rca-bnc.

    Thanks in advance.

    Chris

    (Damn, knew i should check these things out before i buy:mad: )
     
    chris.gally, Oct 13, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. chris.gally

    chris.gally

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Just read the instructions off the website.

    All output inverted. Bugger :cry:

    Anyone convert cables?:D

    Chris
     
    chris.gally, Oct 14, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. chris.gally

    SteveC PrimaLuna is not cheese

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Norway
    Simply reverse all the SACD analogue outputs to match the polarity of the CD source. If necessary after listening tests, reverse the polarity of everything at the amp output or speakers http://www.gcaudio.com/resources/howtos/absolutephase.html. A google search even finds an absolute phase tester.

    SteveC
     
    SteveC, Oct 14, 2003
    #3
  4. chris.gally

    chris.gally

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    SteveC

    Great advice, thanks.


    Nice website too.


    Chris
     
    chris.gally, Oct 14, 2003
    #4
  5. chris.gally

    Paul Ranson

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An octopus's garden.
    I think the only thing inverted about the DAC64 are the balanced outputs, so this is a connection thing. If you're using the phonos you have no problem. If you're using the XLRs then you need cables that crossover hot and cold.

    Paul
     
    Paul Ranson, Oct 14, 2003
    #5
  6. chris.gally

    chris.gally

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Paul

    Just phoned Chord.

    Firstly
    All the outputs are inverted.

    then :eek: :eek:

    they said 'if you listen to CD most of the time set the red and black on the amp for inverted polarity, and leave it for the rest of the time:confused: :confused: :confused: '

    Then when i mentioned the change the hot and cold pins on the cable, he ummed and arred, went went for some advice, came back and said 'yup. that can de done. Great'

    Nice.

    (Now all i need is a pre-amp which has balanced inputs)

    Chris
     
    chris.gally, Oct 14, 2003
    #6
  7. chris.gally

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    And these people know what there talking about ?

    just swap the pins ...the signals ac for God's sake.

    If you want any plugs swapped give me a pm.


    The old arcam black box had a switch on the front that swapped ground and digsignal.
     
    zanash, Oct 14, 2003
    #7
  8. chris.gally

    michaelab desafinado

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Firstly, yes, both XLR and RCA outputs are phase inverted.

    However, if you can tell the difference between phase inverted or not then you've got better hearing than I have.

    I switched my speaker cables around for a while but there really was no difference at all so I switched them back. I think there are few, if any, people who can tell the difference between phase inverted and normal.

    Michael.
     
    michaelab, Oct 14, 2003
    #8
  9. chris.gally

    Paul Ranson

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An octopus's garden.
    Zanash, you cannot swap round the ground and signal of a phono-phono connection. Any fule kno tha. Nothing to do with ac-dc.

    It's really naff that the DAC64 phase inverts. It's not clear from their manual about it, they just talk about the balanced outputs being wired up US style rather than European and therefore hot is cold etc. Seems a bit fishy to me.

    Paul
     
    Paul Ranson, Oct 14, 2003
    #9
  10. chris.gally

    ANOpax ESL-Meister

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire & Scotland
    Paul,

    Why is it naff that the DAC64 phase inverts? The general opinion on the 'absolute phase' thread seems to be that it doesn't matter...

    And if you think it does, please tell us why.

    reg
     
    ANOpax, Oct 14, 2003
    #10
  11. chris.gally

    michaelab desafinado

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I think the DAC64 phase inverts because Chord amps or pre-amps also do it (or something like that). It's not really naff as it makes no difference to the sound. For people who really cared though I case they could have added a phase inversion switch but for me I'd rather not have a switch that does nothing :)

    Michael.
     
    michaelab, Oct 14, 2003
    #11
  12. chris.gally

    bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks
    .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2003
    bottleneck, Oct 14, 2003
    #12
  13. chris.gally

    michaelab desafinado

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Chris - you can delete your own posts you know ;)

    Michael.
     
    michaelab, Oct 14, 2003
    #13
  14. chris.gally

    Paul Ranson

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An octopus's garden.
    Because it's completely unnecessary.

    Because I've heard absolute phase make a difference, and I'd rather have it right.

    For the record my preamp inverts output wrt all inputs. This is a minor pita, because you have to connect the speakers backwards somewhere, but it's similar for all inputs.

    Paul
     
    Paul Ranson, Oct 14, 2003
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.