DIY mains cable...

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by julian2002, Aug 4, 2004.

  1. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    "http://rswww.com/cgi-bin/bv/browse/...&stockNo=379671
    or
    http://rswww.com/cgi-bin/bv/browse/...&stockNo=379413"

    I have tried them both in the last couple of years.
    First one has too many gaps in the screening.

    The second (one I am using now) is double screened with fine Cu and much better.
    Michael (much more experienced than me) will be trying this out soon and report back to the forum.

    The TNT TTS with Belden 83802 is a much superior cable indeed. With its double foil shielding it shouldn't cause any capacitance problems when platted.
    But if you don't want to do that, there is also a 3-core version; Belden 83803.
    [​IMG]
    Have a look at www.belden.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 7, 2004
    BlueMax, Aug 7, 2004
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. julian2002

    taz

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nr Bolton Lancashire
    why not get a few of you to club together and buy a roll i used olmas cy screened cable ferrite clips and braid looks a million dollars wi blue heatshrink on the ends and sounds fine as well
     
    taz, Aug 7, 2004
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. julian2002

    lbr monkey boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a happy place
    I've got a reel of 83802 in the garage. Happy to cut down to whatever lengths anyone wants for £5 metre + P&P. PM me if your interested.
     
    lbr, Aug 9, 2004
    #23
  4. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    lbr

    You have PM
     
    BlueMax, Aug 9, 2004
    #24
  5. julian2002

    andrew1810

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morpeth, Northumberland
    Don't know if this is still happening but if everyone is clubbing together I would be willing to attempt to make a 1m cable

    Andrew
     
    andrew1810, Aug 9, 2004
    #25
  6. julian2002

    mudgey

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    mudgey, Aug 10, 2004
    #26
  7. julian2002

    lbr monkey boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a happy place
    Cable provisionally sold

     
    lbr, Aug 10, 2004
    #27
  8. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    Not that I am jealous or anything but how come these Canadians can buy stuff so cheap?
    They don't pay any taxes or what? :p
     
    BlueMax, Aug 10, 2004
    #28
  9. julian2002

    mudgey

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    In province we have to pay 15% tax,buying from another province we pay 7% tax,these have to be added on to the price unlike the UK where tax is included. I don't know what happens when you import into UK?

    Bob
     
    mudgey, Aug 11, 2004
    #29
  10. julian2002

    nankin

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take a look at www.the-missing-link.net, this bloke has some very good mains cables ready made or buy in kit form or just the cable, I found his mains cables to be far better than the Russ Andrews cables I had been using and at a fraction of the cost.

    Cheers The Nankin
     
    nankin, Aug 13, 2004
    #30
  11. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    15% is only slightly less than in the UK.
    But we have to pay an import duty of 6-8%. And for some strange reason, one Dollar price in the US become one Pound after it cross the pond :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2004
    BlueMax, Aug 15, 2004
    #31
  12. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2004
    BlueMax, Aug 15, 2004
    #32
  13. julian2002

    Class A

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Julian

    Check out Mark 01158779089 http://www.the-missing-link.net/ He sells all kind of bits for DIY and his prices are very good. Tell him David recommended you. Cheers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2004
    Class A, Aug 16, 2004
    #33
  14. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    Bought a set of Eichmann Bullets from Missing Link last week. At £25 incl P&P, it was the lowest price in the UK. He also included a length of silver solder. Long enough to make another two sets!

    Mark, the owner, is knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.
    His kits are comprehensive and his mark up on them is very fair.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 26, 2004
    BlueMax, Aug 26, 2004
    #34
  15. julian2002

    julian2002 Muper Soderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    right, i've just built and installed another 2 supra mains cables at 39 quid a pop (they were 1.5 m jobbies as they needed to reach a bit further). these 2 are running the 2 hi-caps for my 82 (preamp). a subtle but worthwhile change in the sound after about 2 songs. the bass is fatter (but not sloppy) and the treble is cleaner, timing is a bit more incisive (faster) and the soundstage has become slightly larger in all 3 dimensions. i'm listening to grids rollercoaster at the moment and it sounds fast, detailed and groovy as hell. as i said a worthwhile fiddle. i'm still running standard mains leads on the dac and pc - these will change next month and then it's the biggie, a new squeezebox psu!
    cheers

    julian
     
    julian2002, Sep 1, 2004
    #35
  16. julian2002

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    Few days ago I finished building a platted TNT TTS cable using three Teflon twin core cables with double foil screening.

    Best mains cable I ever had :)

    Platting is hard on the fingers but well worth the effort.
     
    BlueMax, Sep 1, 2004
    #36
  17. julian2002

    julian2002 Muper Soderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    bluemax,
    unfortunately plaits / twists / weaves / etc. don't fit well with my amps - hence the need for shielded cable in the 1st place.
    cheers

    julian
     
    julian2002, Sep 1, 2004
    #37
  18. julian2002

    SteveC PrimaLuna is not cheese

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Norway
    I'd be interested to hear about that, since I just got one. Hope you keep us all informed - everyone should have one!
     
    SteveC, Sep 1, 2004
    #38
  19. julian2002

    julian2002 Muper Soderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    steve,
    they (or their equivalents) are the future imho. i'll keep you informaed as to what i discover with the psu's. there are a couple of options, tony (wadia miester) has offered to build me one, but i don't want to mess him about until i have the money to do it as i know he's an incredibly busy man. also russ andrews offer a customisation of their power pak's for any dc voltage / ampage so i may give that a try (if they do thier 60 day money back thing) - but i have a soft spot for big toroids in preference to smps, not sure if there are any others that do bespoke psu's (anyone?). I don't think the clock is worth upgrading on the s/box but i am looking into what i can improve with my server and native flac decoding at the squeezebox end would be a big help i believe.
    cheers


    julian
     
    julian2002, Sep 2, 2004
    #39
  20. julian2002

    user34 Garrard 401 User

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    I just ordered an Opal-F to use with my CDX, I'm currently using a Campaign Audio Design conqueror~mi. Will report back later.
     
    user34, Sep 21, 2004
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.