DIY Speaker cables - Hybrid test

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by speedy.steve, Feb 13, 2006.

1. speedy.steve

speedy.steve

I have been running a Cat5e Triple-T type for several months and liking it.
    This resolved a treble clarity issue that I had with my previous HiFi speaker cables...

Having a fair quantity of PTFE insulated Silver wire I decided to make some DIY speaker cables out of this - using a similar cross sectional area as the triple-T method and a weave similar to the Kimber cables that Russ Andrews sells.

Result. I liked the mids and highs, clear, crisp and fast BUT bass was weak.
    Then I tried a Hybrid of Copper Cat5e for the woofer connections and PTFE Silver for the tweeter - bi-wired.

I was impressed by the result. Bass was it's excellent self again, vocals excellent and the highs are to die for. Cymbals really sound like cymbals. The sound is fast and clear and well balanced across the frequency range.

I was even able to go from GEC 6SN7 tubes to Sylvania's. These are bright and clear but I can now handle them.
    It's as if the cable needed to be changed to keep up or allow the right sort of filtering to bring out the best in the tubes.

I can't believe my CDP can source so well!

Oddly I found homemade interconnects to be best with the signal wire PTFE sliver and the ground Cat 5e. I prefered this over all silver or all copper and over the expensive Myriad interconnects I was using before...

System is Musical Fid A3, SoH home built tube amp, ProAc response D25 speakers.

So, is hybrid cabling common?

speedy.steve, Feb 13, 2006
  2. speedy.steve

Hamilton

Hi speedy.steve