Help with first Hi-Fi

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Chidge, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Chidge

Chidge

Hi everyone,

I've been listening to music through the same audio system (some crap aiwa stereo) since I was about 12 (I'm 22 now). I love music, and I feel its time I started doing my collection justice with a decent system.

I'm completely new to the Hi-Fi game. My plan is to buy the components second hand from ebay/gumtree etc... My problem is I don't know where to start, I have a few quid to spend but can't afford to go crazy, £500-750 as a rough estimate. For that I would want to get: amp, CD player, speakers and a turntable.

It would really help me if people could reccomend a few good options for each component.

Thanks,

Chidge

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2010
    Chidge, Oct 13, 2010
  2. Chidge

UK Duty Paid

You will get masses of help on this & all will be better than the aiwa system

Room size & Layout is important

Best is probably tell us what you are looking at & then get specific advice

Excellent Working Vintage amps/ receivers out there from £20 up
    same with CD players £20 upwards
    TT's cab be bought cheap enough allow £150 max to start possibly including a decent cartridge - but buy a new stylus
    Personally I'd spend as much as you can on the speakers

UK Duty Paid, Oct 13, 2010
  3. Chidge

Richard Dunn

Start by deciding source, are you retro and like records, do you have CD collection, are you computer literate. I am now in no doubt that computer audio, either by adapting something like a mac mini or a dedicated computer transport is the future for mainstream music with records being a fringe but growing market. CD is the medium that will die.