Large Parcel - Posting advice.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by MO!, Jan 31, 2006.

1. MO!

MO! MOnkey`ead!

Hi.

I'm going to list a kareoke machine on ebay. It's obviously quite a large box. I've seen a couple listed with postage for £10 or so.

The thing is, I've never posted anything like this before. How do I go about it? Just take it into the post office as normal? How can I find out the postage costs?

All probably simple questions, but I've never done it before.

Cheers

MO :)

MO!, Jan 31, 2006
  2. MO!

la toilette Downright stupid

If you know dimensions and weight of packed item you can approximate shipping costs at the two following sites:

http://www.parcelforce.com/portal/pw/home (click on 'price a delivery' at top right of page)

or I've sent stuff via these guys (DHL in disguise)
    http://www.parcel2go.com/

I prefer parcelforce just cos I can take a parcel to the PO rather than waiting home all day for the courier to turn up and collect it - although couriers tend to be much faster.....and often cheaper with parcel2go...

Local PO's do have a limit on the size of the parcel, but it's quite big and I've sent large items no probs..

Hope this helps a bit!

la toilette, Jan 31, 2006
  3. MO!

Uncle Ants In Recordeo Speramus

I've used these guys before now:

http://www.parcelfusion.com/

Basically they use parcelforce ... but are cheaper. £9.95 for anything up to thirty kilos so long as its under a certain size (don't know what size though) incl £150 insurance (I think its a fiver for every £500 over that ... I think). Same day pickup so long as you book before midday and a guaranteed 24 hour delivery.

Not 100% reliable, but then I've yet to find a courier who is and I've tried a few. They are the cheapest I've found

Uncle Ants, Jan 31, 2006
  4. MO!

andrew1810

I can highly recommend www.pharos-international.co.uk , they use UPS but only charge £10.56