Micromega Stage 6 DIY mod

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by DaveHiFi, May 24, 2007.

1. DaveHiFi

DaveHiFi Seeking Nirvana

Hi, I was wandering if anyone could help with some advice. I am planning to make a new case for my Micromega stage 6 as I have just started at a new company and they have water jet cutting facilities.
    I was thinking of say 8mm aluminium plate cut to form the same size case as the existing then when the work is done having this poder coated. I am a designer in engineering using autocad so the design bit of the job should be straight forward. Is there any tips on the casework that anyone has, like for example lining the internals with copper like the Marantz KI stuff. Also I was thinking at a later stage to have it reclocked so maybe make the case a little taller to make sure I have more than enough space. All ideas welcome.
    Regards
    Dave

DaveHiFi, May 24, 2007
  2. DaveHiFi

sq225917 Exposer of Foo

dave you could put a carriage clock in the micromega stage cases, theres a lot of air in them.

the board mounts are crap,so consider a complaint mount for the circuit board.

sq225917, May 25, 2007
  3. DaveHiFi

zanash

bracing the case ...would be good.

A friend built a perspex case for an AA5....unmodded sounded very close to a full modded AAA5. I'm certain the mild steel ? case of the original was effecting the sound. So a none metalic case could be a winner.

zanash, May 27, 2007
  4. DaveHiFi

DaveHiFi Seeking Nirvana

Micromega Stage 6 mod

I was thinking of a new case made from scratch. I have joined a company as a design draughtsman and what do you know they have a rather good Water Jet cutting machine. I spoke to the guy who operates it and he has pleanty of spare 10mm thick aluminium plate, so all I have to give him is a drawing in 2d produced with Autocad (which I use all the time) and he will do the business in his spare time. Will take approx 15mins.