Naim Nap135 Monoblocks (Homemade)

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by dex, Feb 28, 2004.

1. dex

dex

This is really for all those folks that think hifi is over priced and that the price you pay is built purely on reputation.

My friend and I are going to build a pair of Naim 135 style Monoblocks with a suitably large power supply. I've just completed the parts list and it comes to to £300 for the lot. Someone please tell me the list price

Now, I'm not saying that Naim pay £300 for the compents in each pair of 135s, because they will buy in bulk and get a big discount, but I've costed the parts and that's what it's going to cost to build a pair of these monoblocks.

Some of the individual components, for example are( Output transistors £5 alone) (Heatsink £25), Toroidal transformer (550VA £26). Luckily, I'm an electronic engineer, so I can see where the performance benefits are gained in every component used , versus lower grade components.

I was surprised at how high the value of the components was for a pair of 135s, but my friend and I are going to build 2 pairs of these monoblocks and be damned. I'm looking to Bi-amp with a NAD 370 doing the bass duties, cos that sounded sweet when we did it with my NADC370 (Bass) and his Naim Nait5 (Treble) a while back

I suppose if you're speptical then buy a service manual and cost the parts yourself. Personally, I'm happy with the price I paid for my own kit, but I wonder if the same would aply to very high end kit like Krell etc.....?

Anyway I'll let you guys know how the project goes, but I suspect for £300 a pair it's got to be good.

P.S. I do my own beer (full mash), and that's about a million times better than most stuff you buy in almost all pubs. I Expect the same with this project.

P.P.S Feel free to ask what a "full mash" is.

DEX

dex, Feb 28, 2004
  2. dex

Steven Toy