paving slabs under speakers

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by dos, Aug 31, 2007.

1. dos

dos

I have a pair of rega elas (mark 1's - floorstanders) which stand on spikes. They are in a carpeted room - floorboards underneath.

Will I gain anything by placing them on a stone slab? A friend of mine has a pair of b&w's which are so placed - just wondering!

I am a relative newcomer to all this but loving it!!

dos, Aug 31, 2007
  2. dos

DavidF

I don't know about the acoustics of floorboards...but would suggest try it and see!

If it was me I would put loads of bubble wrap under the slabs or better still equip them with spikes to go through the carpet and onto the boards below.....you could protect with coins between spike and boards.

I would emphasise though that I have no experience of this type of room.

I am sure soem one will put me right!

DavidF, Aug 31, 2007
  3. dos

YNMOAN Trade - AudioFlat

David, you would put bubble wrap or spikes, Isn't this rather like saying 'chalk or cheese'?

YNMOAN, Aug 31, 2007
  4. dos

DavidF

Sorry, that was what I meant......

:)

I started out a bit ago doing the bubble wrrap....now the spikes etc.

Unfortunatley its is more work.....but (IMO) the results......

DavidF, Sep 1, 2007
  5. dos

zanash

If you have a problem with bass boom ...try to decouple the speakers from the floor ....

a slab sat on big bubble, bubble wrap will help prevent dirrect vibration getting into the flloor and prevent floor bourn vibration going the other way.

this is a cheap solution......if you like the effect consider using platfoam

zanash, Sep 1, 2007
  6. dos

cooky1257

Paving slabs mass load the base of the cab and the speaker will need to do more work to move this mass/wooden floor than just floor alone.To every action there must be an equal and opposite one the slab should serve to anchor the cab more and restrict cab movement because movement now requires more energy because youve increased the mass..