Phono Amp

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by penance, Aug 11, 2003.

  1. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    should be gettng my shearne phase 2 amp in the next week :)
    but it has no phono stage:(

    so does anyone know of any good DIY phono stages preferably a kit?
    id like to try the WAD valve kit but the cost is prohibitive once you add the power supply.
    so solid state or valve, ive tried a google search but didnt pull out many kits
     
    penance, Aug 11, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. penance

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Notts.
    1. Advertisements

  3. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    er
    my google must be broken:confused:
     
    penance, Aug 11, 2003
    #3
  4. penance

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Notts.
    I used stuff other than google....also searched for DIY kit phono preamp. I had some of the addy's like the greek one.
     
    zanash, Aug 12, 2003
    #4
  5. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    penance, Aug 12, 2003
    #5
  6. penance

    themadhippy seen it done it smokin it

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    by the cross
    themadhippy, Aug 12, 2003
    #6
  7. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    that last page you linked to is unreadable ;/
     
    penance, Aug 12, 2003
    #7
  8. penance

    themadhippy seen it done it smokin it

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    by the cross
    components for the cornet look pretty standard,just rember the transformer needs a 240v primary,not 110v,somebody like sowter should be able to help.
     
    themadhippy, Aug 12, 2003
    #8
  9. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    tracking down a transformer here is proving to be awkward ;/
    and i cant find info on the site to say what input voltage from an MC cart is needed, mine is 2.0mV
     
    penance, Aug 12, 2003
    #9
  10. penance

    themadhippy seen it done it smokin it

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    by the cross
    i'd guess its 5mv,if my maffs correct youll get around 320mv out for 2 mv in
     
    themadhippy, Aug 12, 2003
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.