replaceing RCA sockets

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by penance, Jul 24, 2003.

  1. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    The poor 8000A has suffered from all the cable changes i think.
    2 of the channel in sockets nolonger want to hold onto the plugs, so its either a new amp or a diy job.
    So looks like DIY is the oreder of the day.
    has anyone any experience of replaceing the sockets?
    the standard ones are all in one units (2 sockets in moulded plastic thing) that are PCB mount.
    Im thinking i can remove these and buy some panel mount ones, then use some single core wire from the PCB to the new sockets?

    are thes maplin sockets OK or should i buy others?

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/media/largeimages/1011i0.jpg
     
    penance, Jul 24, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. penance

    themadhippy seen it done it smokin it

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    by the cross
    yep there the ones i use most of the time,olny proplem is there price, another supplier (cpc,)sells em for 69p each:eek: but then again they have a £30 minimum order and deal olny with trade.
     
    themadhippy, Jul 24, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    is there any particular type of wire i should use?
     
    penance, Jul 24, 2003
    #3
  4. penance

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Notts.
    Hey they don't calll me Mr socket for nothing [they don't call me mr socket at all].

    Socket get the best you can PTFE insulated maplin types at about £2 throw.

    Cable wise PM and we can talk silver! mine you, you should have some left ?

    Removing the old sockets can be trick if its the first time but with you new solder iron should just be a walk in the park.

    You may need to enlarge the holes, but the maplin socket work a treat, make certain you use the washer and clamp down realy tightly, a small [3" long] adjustable spanner is a real help

    From the PCB you'll need cable jumpers to the sockets. Now I'd sleeve silver wire in the PTFE tubing two lengths per socket for signal and earth.
     
    zanash, Jul 24, 2003
    #4
  5. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    PM sent :)
     
    penance, Jul 24, 2003
    #5
  6. penance

    quickie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    CPC sell the Same sockets as Maplin with the teflon insulators for £2.47+vat per pair.They sell to non account holders,but there is a £4.95 delivery charge regardless of order size.

    Paul.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2003
    quickie, Jul 26, 2003
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.