Resurrecting a dead CD63 KI

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by clogman, Mar 18, 2006.

1. clogman

clogman

First, excellent forum. I learned more about hifi and improving sound in a day of browsing than I'd done in years of reading hifi magazines.

Second, apologies for being a complete novice when it comes to the inside of a CD player. All I know is, you put a CD in and sound comes out. This I hope to change now I've found this forum. I am pretty handy with the soldering iron and screwdriver, though, having built and rebuilt numerous PCs from the groung up.

Third, my CD63KI has died for again. It's been owned since new for more years than I can remember, not really used that much (barely a couple of hours per week). The first time a fault popped up, it started skipping like mad and needed some repair work (don't aks me what was done, I have no idea) but came back just fine.

About a month ago, it point blank refused to play anything. A disc goes in, the display says the word "disc", the display keeps saying the word "disc", and nothing else happens. I have tried jumping tracks, other discs, compressed air, but still the same lack of response when a disc goes in.

I took the lid off and can see a black plastic frame that retracts and holds the CD, with a sticker on it saying Philips L1210/11. Hmmm. Maybe this is the wrong thing that was added at the repair? This all looks very dust-free and works very smoothly, but a disc goes in and does not rotate at all, it just gets grabbed above and below and the LCD on the front says "disc".

I read somewhere about a new transport from Grandata. Again, excusing my complete ignorance, but is the transport the entire assembly including laser and motor? Does my problem sound like it's fixable with a new transport, or is it going to be something more terminal?

I really want to get this player up and running again; there's only so much music you can listen to in a car before you long for a room full of sound.