[Review] Malaysian Promitheus Dual Mono Reference TVC preamp

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by larkrise, Feb 23, 2007.

1. larkrise

larkrise Sheepdogs prefer red wine

Malaysian Promitheus Dual Mono Reference TVC preamp

I'm not that good at hi-fi reviews, there's only so much vocabulary you can use to describe an aural experience! - so please take this as a brief report for those that may be interested, as promised, on the Reference version of the Promitheus transformer preamp. I ordered this reference version as i was so impressed by the standard. This is dual mono and balanced version, plus it has the special mahogany knobs! Out of the box it sounded superb, really nice, easy to listen to, good transients, fantastic detail just terrific - little more to say as I had no criticisms.

I then rigged it up to a tuner 24/7 for a couple of weeks and this afternoon I put it back into the system. All of the above and more came through, in particular a great sound stage and detail and transients at lower listenng levels - something that is attractive to me as i some times listen very late at night. It is especially good at high end notes - bells, harpsichord just hang in the air and the bass is as good as I have heard anywhere with active preamps. This is something very special and at the price Nicholas is charging it is a giveaway. Highly - and I mean HIGHLY reccomended, if you want a tvc pay the extra for the reference. I have also used Promitheus's silver interconnects with this too - same wiring as the preamp and this has been an added factor to the quality set against some otheer quality silver XLR's I have.

It's as good if not better than any expensive passive I've listened to. And before you ask I have no relatives in Kuala Lumpar!

;)

larkrise, Feb 23, 2007
  2. larkrise

GHM