[Review] Marantz PM6010OSE

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by amazingtrade, Jul 12, 2003.

1. amazingtrade

amazingtrade Mad Madchestoh fan

Marantz PM6010OSE

I just thought I would write about my 7 months ownership of my Marantz PM6010OSE.

Background info:

I am student and don't have much money however I have been building up a HIFI seperates system since 1999. My first amp was an Ariston AX910, then a Marantz PM4000 and now the 6010OSE. This review will be comparing the amp to the Marantz PM4000 and the Denon 255SE UK two amps which I also have expereince with at a similar price point.

Sound Quality

The sound is rather snappy but at the same time smooth, there is high detail levels and you don't feel like you are missing very much, this does not sound like a low end product, more of a low end mid range product. The timing is spot on, the vocals are very open and convey the realism you would expect from a decent amp. The bass however is slightly lacking compared to the Denon 255SE UK. I am not particualy a bass fan though, I like speed above anything else and cheap sub £100 sub woofers frankly scare me.

Spin some Simon and Garfunkel such as Bleaker Street or Sounds of Silence and this amp really shines, both Simon's and Garfunkel's voice really shine through, every pluck of the guitar is relayed and it sounds brillaint.

REM's automatic for the people on 12" vynil also sounds very good. Though the amp lacks a bit of bass, the timing is so accurate that dance music still sounds very good, and a lot of my mates who have mini systems comment on how good the bass is. So unless you really much feel every beat then you should be able to live with the bass fine.