Sat Navs

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by DavidF, Sep 21, 2006.

1. DavidF

DavidF

Hi,

I don't know if this is the appropriate place to ask but I wondeed if any one has any expereince of after market sat navs?

I can't afford one at the minute but will be looking to buy one some time.

My Dad has lent me his tom tom 300 which is pretty good........but are there btter out there?

cheers,

David

DavidF, Sep 21, 2006
  2. DavidF

Sgt Rock

Sgt Rock, Sep 21, 2006
  3. DavidF

julian2002 Muper Soderator

i've been using a tom tom go for several years now - the only times it's let me down is when i've told it the wrong destination - or my destination has been a brand new development (i.e. not on it's internal map) this last one could be fixed by me upgrading the map but to be honest it's not that much of a bother as long as i set the destination before i leave and can sort out the last few roads if necessary.

julian2002, Sep 22, 2006
  4. DavidF

tones compulsive cantater

I got a TomTom Navigator 5 package for my Palm TX organiser and had a first run this very day en route to work (when I had to bring the car to transport several tons of Wadia back to the shop from whence it was borrowed). It worked very well. Only problem is, it's so fascinating to see the road rolling in 3-D before you that you have to consciously ignore it and watch the real road instead, on which there are real cars. And after a long time on the motorway, you get a shock when a cultured voice suddenly says to you, "At 800M, take the exit and stay left."

tones, Sep 22, 2006
  5. DavidF

DavidF

Thanks for the replies.

Like you, tones, I almost hit the roof the other day after being on the m'way for an hour or so.

I would say, they do tend to go by the shortest, rather than the BEST root, which meant that a bit ago I ended up driving along miles of lanes (incl a 1 in3 hill) with a sick engine.

DavidF, Sep 22, 2006
  6. DavidF

SteveC PrimaLuna is not cheese