The Maxell Ad and shock reveletions!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by merlin, Oct 26, 2003.

1. merlin

merlin

Remember the old Maxell tape ad with the dodgy looking new romantic type sitting in the chair? Well I now know how he must have felt and it's great entertainment:D

I have recently had an offer for my Tact, sad thing is the JBL subs have been adding a sense of ease to my system that has been addictive, even if the affect is subtle. The subs have no internal crossovers so I would need to get something to replace the Tact should I let it go.

Well, I started playing with crossover frequencies to try to find what works best, and just for a laugh thought I would feed the subs direct without a low pass filter:eek: The drive units crossover in the 9800K2 speaker at 800hz and my measurements show the subs output is pretty flat up to around 700hz so I thought why not! Well obviously subs should be crossed over as low as possible to fill in below the mains without overlapping. Plus bass is directional above around 80hz. Or so the theory goes.

Well bollox to all that, to use the ZG venacular, suddenly I had seriously good sound, bass thwack that would scare even WM, and such body and palpability that vocalists took on a whole new emotional level. Running through the likes of Leftfield, K&D and Underworld, I was pinned to my chair, every vibration felt as if the disc was encoded in sensorama! Try something more delicate. Dido, Lambchop and Eleanor McEvoy, shit it still sounds better. More body, scale and expressiveness. A bit more colouration but the imaging is intact if not better.

So what the frick is going on:confused: Have I created a monster or are the traditional theories on sub integration simply wrong and current commercial subs inherently flawed?

merlin, Oct 26, 2003
  2. merlin

7_V I want a Linn - in a DB9

Sounds great.