thorens td 150mk2 cartridge upgrade

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by csh telecaster, Feb 11, 2021.

1. csh telecaster

csh telecaster

Hi to everyone, have just joined this forum. System consists ,Arcam Alpha 7 amp, B/W DM 10s, and Roksan Kandy cd. I am going to collect a thorens deck when lockdown allows. It has the basic sure cartridge which i shall probably want to upgrade in the future. I am really looking forward to hearing my vinyl records again after so long. The music i listen to is mainly prog, folk, ect
    and i like to hear the high end treble ,not just bass. Budget up to 2-250 pounds, what would make a good choice for me.
    Also i did once have Linn index speakers which i really liked, these seem quite cheap on ebay, would they make a good upgrade.
    Im going to have to learn DIY on HI FI ,i work as a dental tech so quite good with fine detail and have upgrade work on guitars.
    Any suggestions welcome. Really looking forward to getting this deck,

csh telecaster, Feb 11, 2021
  2. csh telecaster

Sergeauckland

Depending on what Shure cartridge your new turntable has, it might be an idea just to get a new stylus for it. There are now almost no original Shure replacements available, but if the cartridge should be a Shure M97 or V15, a JICO SAS stylus will be an improvement even on the original Shure.

If it's not one of the higher-end Shure cartridges, then a modern Audio Technica, Ortofon or Goldring MM cartridge would suit the original Thorens arm reasonably well, as it's most suited to the higher compliance of MMs rather than Moving Coils. If the arm isn't the Thorens original, then depending on what it is, there may be wider choices. Your amplifier's phono stage is suitable for MMs and high output MCs only, so that may limit your choice of cartridge.