TQWL diy speakers

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by eggzy43, Sep 17, 2005.

1. eggzy43

eggzy43

Hi guys,
    I'm new to ZeroGain so please be gentle with me. I'm currently building a pair of TQWL speakers in a workshop in Huyton, Liverpool.
    The bass/mid units are taken from my old Eltax speakers [6 ohms]. I connected them to a rubbish stack system amp [my Cyrus 1 is being repaired] just to test them and they sounded....well, pretty poor in my opinion, very inefficient, but I put it all down to the "amplification" and the drive units. i.e. the cabinets are okay, there was certainly plenty of low bass and the cabinets [not fully glued up yet] showed no signs of resonating due to their thick walls I assume. My plan is to get some full-range drive units, I wonder if anybody known of any *affordable* units I could try? are any of those in-car speakers worth a go?

Thanks for your time
    Cheers
    Eric

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 17, 2005
    eggzy43, Sep 17, 2005
  2. eggzy43

zanash

Get in contact with wilmslow audio they do a range of good drivers to suit all pockets. I'd be very suprised if they could not help you.

zanash, Sep 17, 2005
  3. eggzy43

LiloLee Blah, Blah, Blah.........

Not that I want to dampen your fire, but doesn't TQWL stand for Tuned Quarter Wave Loading? Why I ask this aren't you supposed to build the cabinet based on the specifications of the speaker unit? So how did you arrive at the size of the cabinet? Martin King is 'The Man' for this whose web site is here http://www.quarter-wave.com/

LiloLee, Sep 18, 2005
  4. eggzy43

eggzy43

yes

TAPERED QUARTER WAVE TUBE AKA VOIGT PIPE