Tres Piezas Fáciles (Sagreras)

Discussion in 'Classical Music' started by burnabyguitar, Sep 15, 2023.

  1. burnabyguitar


    Oct 17, 2020
    Likes Received:
    Washington, USA
    Tres Piezas Fáciles, Op. 19
    I. Marcha
    II. Maria Luisa (Mazurka)
    III. Nostalgia (Petite Melodie)
    by Julio Sagreras (1879 - 1942)

    Julio Salvador Sagreras (22 November 1879 – 20 July 1942) was an Argentine guitarist, pedagogue, and composer. Between 1900 and 1936, Sagreras was a professor of guitar at the Académia de Bellas Artes in 1899, and gave many concerts in concert halls and salons, and also participated in radio broadcasts.

    Sagreras is also known for his methodical and well-annotated guitar instruction series. It consists of seven books that take the student from the beginner to the advanced stage. The series is so well thought out and so incrementally progressive that it has often been said that the student can teach himself.

    The Tres Piezas Fáciles, Op. 19 contains 3 movements:
    I. Marcha
    II. Maria Luisa (Mazurka)
    III. Nostalgia (Petite Melodie)
    The work might be named for Maria Luisa Anido (1907 - 1996), an Argentine child prodigy on the guitar who was active until at least the 1980s. However it might be also named for Sagreras' sister.

    burnabyguitar, Sep 15, 2023
  2. burnabyguitar


    Nov 30, 2023
    Likes Received:
    Sagreras' method guides students from the beginner level to the advanced stage with careful attention to progression and development.

    His method is often praised for its clarity, organization, and gradual difficulty, allowing students to build a solid foundation and progress at their own pace.
    murphybridget, Apr 22, 2024
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.