tuneing a tuner

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by penance, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    i picked up a Denon TU260L for 30 quid and im going to plumb it in tomorrow

    already started thinking of possible upgrades for it along the lines of --

    coat inside of case with copper foil tape
    remove captive lead and fit IEC plug ready for decent mains lead
    replace cheapo RCA sockets with maplin gold plated jobs

    is there anything else i can do will its under the knife?
     
    penance, Aug 8, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. penance

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Notts.
    It's not a bad tuner as it stand siting here in front of me !!

    Should have looked in the classified don't think I was asking that much !!

    Still.........thats life !!

    First a decent aerial on the roof or at second best in the loft. Get low loss sat cable it's better than standard coax.


    Well just opened mine up ....not a lot in it !!

    The first thing that stikes me is the output stage descrete components ! [just behind the RCA sockets].

    So for what its worth ....

    This is what I'd do,

    Replace the six caps with stargets, 47uf x2, 2200uf x 1 100uf x1 10uf x 1 1uf x1. these are to the south of the transformer [if north is the back of the case]

    Carefully remove the diodes sat right behind the transf. d1 d2 d27 d5 d6 only spot 5. swap them for schottky 11dq10's [power up and see if it all works, if not replace them] note that the band on the diode is to the top....got to get them the same way round.

    Oh yes pm if you need any parts !

    Next nice big blob of blutack on the Crystal and on the chips.

    I'd swap all the electrolytic caps for starget there arn't that many, mainly 10uf 35v 1uf 50v the lowest marked voltage is 6.3v so try and get all 35v - 50v types, you might need oscons for some of the odd values.

    Replace the reistors in the output stage with Holco's .

    That realistically is about the lot without rebuilding the thing from scratch.

    The case will need damping, and a decent mains lead and IEC socket. The sockets are a ripe for swaping. But thats it
     
    zanash, Aug 8, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    sorry mate, i didnt see your add in clasifieds:shame:

    the rest sounds interesting, ill PM you over the weekend
    nearly pub o'clock
     
    penance, Aug 8, 2003
    #3
  4. penance

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Notts.
    Wilco.......
     
    zanash, Aug 9, 2003
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.