Wattgate 320 IEC ?!?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by voodoo, Nov 4, 2003.

  1. voodoo

    voodoo OdD

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utopolis
    Just had a look at the Wattgate IEC's on my Kimber Classic kords and there appears to be some capacitor :confused: type 'bridge' between the Live and Neutral connections.

    Any ideas as to their purpose ?
     
    voodoo, Nov 4, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. voodoo

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    surge supressor :)
     
    penance, Nov 4, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. voodoo

    voodoo OdD

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utopolis
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh;) .

    Cheers :D
     
    voodoo, Nov 4, 2003
    #3
  4. voodoo

    Lt Cdr Data om

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    away from the overcrowded south
    roll of the treble a bit to sound smoother? naughty oops its mains..well keep rf out...
     
    Lt Cdr Data, Nov 4, 2003
    #4
  5. voodoo

    HenryT

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Yep, that's exactly what it is. R.A. calls it a "Superclamp" though. :)
     
    HenryT, Nov 4, 2003
    #5
  6. voodoo

    bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,766
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bucks
    Put your cynical hats on..... I wonder why he calls it that...


    possible reasons for doing so...

    1) Nobody else will have the 'superclap' therefore providing product with an additional feature.
    2) To say what the item ACTUALLY is, will encourage thoughts like '' but if its just a surge supressor - isnt that a) something I could make myself for 10p?, b) the same as other products?
    3) by calling it 'superclamp' it infurs the little capacitor is in same way 'SUPERior'
    4) By keeping customers in the dark, you maintain an air of mystery
    5) By using a term nobody knows, infers that they have additional knowledge - and therefore can engineer a superior product.
    6) by using the word 'clamp' the plug now has magical clamping quality to the mains!


    Im running out here... anyone else?

    Im off to have a super-pint, on my clamp-sofa.

    :D
     
    bottleneck, Nov 4, 2003
    #6
  7. voodoo

    HenryT

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    I believe it may be nothing more than a VDR (Voltage Dependant Resistor).

    Mind you, have you seen the prices R.A. charges for their wall wart plug-in "Mega Clamp" device... ;)
     
    HenryT, Nov 4, 2003
    #7
  8. voodoo

    Hodgesaargh

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    If you look at Russ's prices, the difference between getting the cheaper Wattgate IEC and the more expensive one is actually more than it should be when you take into consideration the prices of the Wattgates on their owm. Russ is a total rip-off artist in the extreme.
     
    Hodgesaargh, Nov 5, 2003
    #8
  9. voodoo

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    RA charge £20 plus postage for Wattgate 320s.

    A forum member imported a few from US and he let me have a couple for £12.50 each including Recorded Delivery
    :)
     
    BlueMax, Jun 9, 2004
    #9
  10. voodoo

    michaelab desafinado

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Data - your sig is bigger than most people's posts. Could you cut it down a bit or at least use the SIZE=1 command (in square brackets) to make the text smaller...like this .

    Michael.
     
    michaelab, Jun 9, 2004
    #10
  11. voodoo

    blakeaudio

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    so does anybody know exactly what the device is in terms of values, voltages, etc., so one can replicate a "superclamp" down at the local maplin's?

    and, rather more importantly, is it actually worth doing?

    i presume a "voltage dependant resistor" merely shorts when there is voltage spike, preventing that entering the equipment...? or something like that?
     
    blakeaudio, Jun 9, 2004
    #11
  12. voodoo

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    penance, Jun 9, 2004
    #12
  13. voodoo

    blakeaudio

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    useful thanks.

    so you put those next to / on any component like a refrigerator, etc. but not on the hi fi..?
     
    blakeaudio, Jun 9, 2004
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.