2-Way Crossover Help

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by JCdenton, Jun 30, 2020.

1. JCdenton

JCdenton

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me. I am a music enthusiast, and enthusiasm is what best describes it really, because I have no technical knowledge or education when it comes to setting up audio systems (I am currently trying to learn via youtube videos and internet research, but sometimes it is difficult to grasp some ideas when you come from zero knowledge and have no one to help). I recently got a pair of speakers given by a friend, which I knew didn't work, but since I want to learn about sound and electronics, I thought it was a good project to start my journey.

The speakers are a pair of Wharfedale W2 Dovedales, which seem to be quite decent, but mine are crackly and failing. I opened them up and found that the drivers and woofers are ok, no apparent issues with wires either, and the problem seems to be with the crossovers (there's a potentiometer which regulates between bass and treble, and the sound turns on and off as I turn the knob)

This might be sacrilege to some people here, but my main goal is to have them working well, and I don't care about having original parts, so I'm thinking that the best way forward is to get a set of new crossovers, as I don't have the knowledge to fix the originals and most certainly cannot make a new set from scratch. I have no particular interest in having a potentiometer to regulate bass, and treble, so to open up my options I would be happy to replace with something that does not offer this feature.