Audio Cable Hate?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by charlieclarke, Oct 20, 2014.

1. charlieclarke

charlieclarke

Greetings! I am fairly new to the audiophile scene, so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm finally at a place in my life where I have a good amount of money to start putting my system together. I've been reading through many of the forums and it seems like the most controversial topic of all is audio cables / interconnects / etc?

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2014
    charlieclarke, Oct 20, 2014
  2. charlieclarke

Tenson Moderator

The problem is the way they are sold. A Rolex does not claim to be a more accurate time keeper just a nice thing to own and to show. A BMW will be provably different in various areas of performance than a Honda.

On the other hand expensive audio cables can not be shown to make the sound of your system clearer in any provable way than a basic cable. Yet the makers often claim otherwise saying things like their cable transmits the signal with less distortion. The maker may even try to convince people of thier claims by measurements of transmitting a non-audio signal for example.

There are some finer details to the arguments, but this is the base of it.

Tenson, Oct 20, 2014
  3. charlieclarke

charlieclarke

Thanks for your reply.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2014
    charlieclarke, Oct 20, 2014
  4. charlieclarke

Tenson Moderator

That shouldn't be the case. Can you give an example?

To make a claim of superiority in a specific area there must be proof. Most adverts are very careful not to claim anything specific.

Unlike many products, electronic equipment especially cables are very easy to test. A simple subtraction of the signal from a basic cable from that of an expensive one will show what difference remains.

Tenson, Oct 20, 2014
  5. charlieclarke

vwo60