Bi-amped dual mono or Bridged dual mono setups

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Zappa, Feb 10, 2021.

1. Zappa

Zappa

Hi all

I am new to the mystical art of Bi-Wiring, Bi-Amping, Mono Blocs and all the other terms which I do not completely understand.

I have watched and read countless posts/YouTube Videos on the subject, but I still don’t get it, hence the post, so apologies if this has been asked before.

My current system is all Cambridge Audio.

2 x Azur 851W Amplifiers (1 x 851W not currently setup)
    (Power output – stereo/mono
    200W per channel into 8 Ohms 350W per channel into 4 Ohms

Power output – bridged mono
    500W 8 Ohms 800W 4 Ohms)

1 x 851N Network streamer and DAC (I have this set as a digital pre-amp)
    1 x 851C CD Player & DAC

In an ideal world I would also have the 851E (Pre-Amplifier) but I cannot find one

Speakers are Mission Floor standing 782SE’s

Closure Type – 3-way reflex loaded
    Frequency Response +-3dB 48Hz to 20Hz
    Cross over Frequency 195Hz & 2.5Hz
    Impedance 8 Ohms
    Recommended Amplifier 5-200—W/Ch

Speaker cables are Van Damme with banana connectors of which I have 4 pairs

I am interested in the dark art of Bi-amping and based on what equipment I have, would like to know which is the preferred method.

Cambridge Audio tell me I can configure the 851W’s in either Bi-amped dual mono or Bridged dual mono setup which I am assuming is.

Vertical bi-amping = One stereo amp per side. One channel for high frequencies and one for low or Horizontal bi-amping = One amp for low frequencies. One channel for left one channel for right. One amp for high frequencies etc:

Room Size is 8m x 5m

Any suggestions on which option or any other scenarios would be the best setup appreciated

Thanks

Zappa, Feb 10, 2021
  2. Zappa

Sergeauckland

I'm not surprised you don't get it, as there's nothing to get!