Building the Perfect Room

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by gavman, Dec 30, 2009.

1. gavman

gavman

hello chaps and chapesses

i plan to build a dedicated listening room/studio on the first floor of my current bungalow. this will take advantage the outlook from there, and give me a chance to build something that sounds better than my current room, which is very big, odd shaped and has a concrete floor.
    i'm at the early stage, and this is my thinking so far:
    i'm a bass freak, i love drum'n'bass, dub, reggae, hard house, trance and chillout, as well as all the usual pink floyd, kruder and dorfmeister etc
    my background is as a rave/free party /festival organiser, but i've also sold esoteric hi-fi in the past
    the best sq i've heard on my travels is in wooden structures, and the best of all an old river barge beached by chelsea bridge a few years ago

so i really like the idea of a wooden structure, but in dynamic tension, like a boat.

so, the question is,
    what would be the best internal shape?

i'm no fan of high ceilings, and i like the idea of using curves rather than corners.

the system:
    rock turntable, yba 3 box cd player
    2 x handbuilt 300watt power amps, built by chris bryant to david cathro's specs
    pre-amp to match

speakers are the alon phalanx system, open baffle and outboard crossovers, extensively modified by chris and david

subwoofer is to be comprised of four ceiling mounted infinitely baffled subwoofers, each 1m cubed and sitting in the loft above the room, open end facing down, mounted on an arc maintaining the same distance from the listening position as the main speakers,
    each manifold to hold four 15inch drivers, 16 in total, driven by dedicated high quality (non plate) pa power amps tbc with ~700watts/driver

i have no neighbours and enjoy high spl's...but you already guessed that

many thanks for your opinions
    luvgav

gavman, Dec 30, 2009
  2. gavman

scott_01

Hi Gav