Cheap CD clock upgrade

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by Mr_Sukebe, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. Mr_Sukebe

    GAZZ

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    northwest
    Shame you live so far away otherwise i might of paid you a visit, to see your upgrades.

    GAZZ
     
    GAZZ, Aug 29, 2003
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mr_Sukebe

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Its not far in the scale of things just across the Pennines.

    You welcome if you can get !
     
    zanash, Aug 31, 2003
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mr_Sukebe

    bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks
    ID love to get mine done, but only got two reservations..

    1) cant afford it :mad:
    2) my transport wont play CD-Rs which is a pain in the long term

    Pete

    With the power supply, how much was your clock? -

    Anyone know a way of making a transport that wont play CD-Rs ..play CD-Rs - or is it just a case of tough tittie?


    Cheers
    Chris
     
    bottleneck, Aug 31, 2003
    #43
  4. Mr_Sukebe

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    The clock and PSU cost £80-00, the miniclock was half price.
     
    zanash, Sep 1, 2003
    #44
  5. Mr_Sukebe

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    Having had chance to inspect one of these net clock and psu's more closely, I can say, the psu is far more advanced, clock is well er um... ok, the psu is good even if you make your own terminals from a Cap :confused: WM
     
    wadia-miester, Sep 5, 2003
    #45
  6. Mr_Sukebe

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    They do another version, the rock maybe thats a more upto date design, and possibly why the miniclock was half price.
     
    zanash, Sep 7, 2003
    #46
  7. Mr_Sukebe

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    Pete, It wasn't the miniclock mate, some very odd design work in there :confused: (the rf box was a nice touch) if a little gargantuan in girth :D I feel the max clock hieght should be 10-12mm, try fitting one of them in a micromega or even a planet easily hoooo, shrink ray anyone. WM
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2003
    wadia-miester, Sep 7, 2003
    #47
  8. Mr_Sukebe

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Can't comment on the design but the size is ....well intresting !

    I'm thinking of rear mounting one ...bolting it to the rear of the case inside another plastic project box.
     
    zanash, Sep 12, 2003
    #48
  9. Mr_Sukebe

    Chea Johndle Bizarre Serpent Foomaster

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Foo Central


    Hey!!! watch out for the sharp bits!!!:D

    Regards
     
    Chea Johndle, Sep 12, 2003
    #49
  10. Mr_Sukebe

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Oh such a wit ..............thanks for bringing me back to earth or should that be 0v.
     
    zanash, Sep 12, 2003
    #50
  11. Mr_Sukebe

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    Pete a little Tip for you, the clock, should be a close a humanly possible to it's intented destiation, IE the 0V and the clock signal wire should be very very short, if not shorter. WM
     
    wadia-miester, Sep 12, 2003
    #51
  12. Mr_Sukebe

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Yes I know, Unfortunately mine has gone where there was space !

    I'll ge round to copper foiling them at some stage, hoping that will help a little.

    Unless the player is really deep the miniclock has to sit to one side of the board on the Denon.

    If i do the Quad the crystal is right by the edge of the PCB next to a nice sized gap....so that should work a lot better topographically speaking.
     
    zanash, Sep 15, 2003
    #52
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.