Confused and Inexperienced

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Gords, Mar 20, 2021.

1. Gords

Gords

Hello everyone, a newbie here.
    I am hoping that someone can help me.
    I have a videoke set-up.
    HDD karaoke player, Yamaha 4 channel mixer, 1000W amplifier.
    I have the karaoke machine and two microphones in the mixer, using XLR connectors for the microphones.
    The problem is when the karaoke machine is playing, if I turn any of the microphones on or off, the music stops for a few seconds.
    It is making people miss the beginning of their songs.
    Can anyone shed any light on what the problem is, or how I can solve it ?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Gords, Mar 20, 2021
  2. Gords

Sergeauckland

Can you let us know which Yamaha mixer and which Karaoke player? Also, which microphones might be relevant, but less likely.

Also, can you tell whether turning the microphone on stops the player playing for a few seconds, or the player still plays, but is muted.

One more thing, how do you turn on/off the microphone? Is this a switch on the mic, or do you use the mixer fader or mixer channel on-off switch?

It's going to be difficult to diagnose remotely, but I'll have a go if you can post answers to the above.

S.

Sergeauckland, Mar 20, 2021
  3. Gords

Gords

The mixer is a Yamaha F4, the karaoke player is a Platinum Major HD10 HDD, microphones are Sony Professional dynamic heavy duty, 5 metre mic leads with XLR connectors either end.

I am unsure whether the player stops or is muted, sorry.

I am turning the microphones on/off by the microphone switch, however, when I have the microphone sliders totally off there is no stoppage. When the volume slider is in the normal singing position, and you turn the microphone on/off via the microphone switch there is a loud crack and the music stops, or is muted, and it happens with both microphones.