Dear Adam Audio, Why are u so (God damn) Loud?!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Primaplanken, Mar 30, 2024.

  1. Primaplanken

    Primaplanken

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2024
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a little problem. I have little home studio setup consisting of a pair of Adam t7v's, an SSL2 interface and a little t10s subwoofer. Never had any problems (e.f some static noise).

    But now after upgrading to a pair of second hand Adam S1X's, and connecting them to my Audio Interface, I cannot turn my big bright blue volume knob (unless I want to burst all the windows on the first floor). It's so extremely loud, so extremely quick. I have completely turned down the input gain on the back control panel. (It's only -10db though)

    I am utterly lost. I've tried to connect the S1X's directly into my SSL without the sub connected in-between. I've tried lowering the volume in my windows settings (not optimal but I will settle for anything) which works for Spotify and other tabs but when working in Ableton it bypasses that setting.

    I want to use that big blue sexy SSL knob again. Not only the first 5%. I would've paid less if I had known that.
     
    Primaplanken, Mar 30, 2024
    #1
  2. Primaplanken

    Steve

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Perhaps you are using the wrong input on the monitors. You need to be using the balanced +4dBU inputs, and ensure that the "Level" control (on the monitors) are not turned up to high. Also, be aware that 70w is pretty high for near field monitors - they are supposed to go LOUD when turned up high.
     
    Steve, May 27, 2024 at 4:31 PM
    #2
  3. Primaplanken

    Primaplanken

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2024
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My problem is resolved. It's just known in studio circels that they Adam s1x's need a standard attenuator of -25 dB. Now they sound amazing. And quiet enough.
     
    Primaplanken, May 27, 2024 at 4:59 PM
    #3
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.