DIY valve amp for my Horns. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by vincula, May 27, 2010.

1. vincula

vincula

Hi guys,

I think I got the bug . I'm currently working on a pair of DIY horn speakers. I don't think I'm too far from being ready to give them the very first audition. Exciting.

http://www.vinylengine.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=27670&highlight=

As they're very sensitive, they are the perfect excuse for... building a valve amp. Wait 'til she knows... Mmm. You had a hidden agenda, didn't ya?

I'm thinking single-ended topography here, very simple lay-out with only a few components (I am a complete newbie, though I own a soldering iron). I believe 5 watts of triode power would suffice, even less.

Any ideas, links, experiences, pictures, schematics and suggestions are wholeheartedly encouraged. I've been surfin', but feel a bit lost and overwhelmed and need some guidance here.

My dream? Well, an entire VincAudio system. The sky's the limit. I'm just having so much fun with this DIY thing.

Regards,

Vincula

vincula, May 27, 2010
  2. vincula

Colin2040

If it were me Id definitely look at the Glasshouse 300b,superb amp and not too difficult to build, looks the part as well.

Colin2040, May 27, 2010
  3. vincula

vincula

WOW, those Glasshouse kits do look scrumptious:)! I'm pretty sure they sound lovely and are relatively easy to put together... for someone with a bit of experience, though. I admire Audio Note gear (have a pair of AZ-Two's myself), so you just hit the right button.

I was thinking of a more "humble" start, maybe something based around a 6V6, an EL84, a 2A3 for instance, who knows, with a very minimal circuit. The idea I've got of a Decware Zen amp or something like that, but built from scratch. I've been having a look at BlueBell Audio as well. Any experience with those? There seem to be so many around...

Thanks in advance for all the guidance. I've already put Glasshouse under faves!

Regards,

Vincula