Do I need an amp?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Newbie1111, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. Newbie1111

    Newbie1111

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have a turntable set up which is a Rega RP1 playing through a set of Aktimate Blue speakers via a rega pre amp. I don't have an amplifier as the speakers don't require it - they have built in amp, I believe.
    I'm looking to get a cheap CD player separate (looking at Cambridge Audio cd32-36 but open to suggestions). If I set this up through the pre amp and into the speakers would it work?
    Or do I need an amplifier?
     
    Newbie1111, Mar 18, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Newbie1111

    Jeff Lee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    You don't need another amplifier for a CD player (by the way, the Onkyo C-7030 comes well reviewed at £199 from Richer Sounds). But whatever you do, do NOT try to connect a CD player to the Rega pre-amp - and if it is the model Fono Mini A2D you couldn't easily do that anyway. This kind of pre-amp is specially designed to boost the tiny signal from a pickup cartridge up to the same level as from e.g. a CD player.

    The Aktimates have connections and sockets on the back of one speaker. I can't see exactly how these are marked/labelled but probably your Rega pre-amp is plugged into one pair of sockets marked AUX1. You would connect the CD player into the other AUX input pair of sockets. Get a decent interconnect cable for that job, and personally I would try to keep the CD player some distance away from the Aktimates, and avoid having speakers and player on - for example - the same flimsy shelf (same goes for your turntable).

    Hope that helps, and happy listening.
     
    Jeff Lee, Apr 3, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Newbie1111

    Jeff Lee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you make progress on this?
     
    Jeff Lee, May 3, 2017
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Serial # 19781010

    Why do we need pre-amp ?

    Serial # 19781010, Jun 16, 2004, in forum: High End Audio
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    222
    Gene Poon
    Jun 17, 2004
  2. Dave

    Do I need a new amp?

    Dave, Oct 5, 2004, in forum: High End Audio
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    401
    normanstrong
    Oct 9, 2004
  3. pjamal
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    241
    Rob Adelman
    Feb 23, 2004
  4. vd
    Replies:
    55
    Views:
    718
    Paul Stamler
    Jan 31, 2008
  5. Jack Jarmush

    do i need a pre amp?

    Jack Jarmush, Mar 30, 2009, in forum: Pro Audio
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    181
    jwvm@umich.edu
    Mar 31, 2009
  6. Sauerkraut

    Stereo amp over AV amp (do i buy a stereo amp?)

    Sauerkraut, Nov 18, 2003, in forum: Hi-Fi and General Audio
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    1,470
    Sauerkraut
    Nov 19, 2003
  7. Speranza

    Do I really need a Power Amp...?

    Speranza, Oct 8, 2010, in forum: Hi-Fi and General Audio
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,556
    Speranza
    Oct 14, 2010
  8. Rizzal

    I bought speakers, need advice for an amp

    Rizzal, Dec 31, 2016, in forum: Hi-Fi and General Audio
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    338
    leaudiophile
    Jan 3, 2017
Loading...