Entry level set up advice please!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by JayDiddy, Mar 6, 2024.

1. JayDiddy

JayDiddy

Total newbie to music systems so looking for some friendly advice.
    I want to build a basic set up to play vinyl/cd/stream.
    I don’t have the confidence to know about buying second hand stuff so what would people recommend?
    Am based in West Yorkshire and happy to travel a bit to go and get stuff.
    Budget is about £750

JayDiddy, Mar 6, 2024
  2. JayDiddy

tuga

Many dealers sell used gear (usually from trade-in deals). This might be a good option as long as you avoid Emporium Hi-Fi.
    They will be happy to let you audition equipment and suggest alternatives for a given budget.

Buying a turntable is a bit risky but if buying from an audio forum classifieds section you should be ok (e.g. https://pinkfishmedia.net/forum/).
    Parts for some older CD players have been discontinued and they should be avoided.

Audio Technica (direct-drive), Pro-Ject and Rega are safe entry-level turntables which come with an on-board phono preamp and a decent pick-up cartridge. Expect to pay around £250.

£750 is a bit short for a system with 3 sources. You can get a WiiM Pro streamer / amplifier and maybe a pair of small Q Acoustics speakers.

tuga, Mar 6, 2024
    JayDiddy likes this.
  3. JayDiddy

Hodges

Don't look to do do too much to start. A good second hand amp, even just a Power Amp would be a good start. Being and "Oldie". I was astounded at the quality of music available via a DAC, and not for much money either. In particular, an iFi Uno, for very little money. I have one driving my Quad 909 at the moment. This should leave you with enough left for a decent pair of second hand speakers.