Finally - A sub that actually works!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Robbo, Nov 28, 2004.

1. Robbo

Robbo

As you may know I have been using my ProAc 1SCs for many years and have stuck with them due to their superb midrange and wonderful drive unit integration and coherence. They produce pretty reasonable bass for their size, but of course it is not earth shaking and this lack of deep bass is their only major failing IMO. Over the years, I have had several attempts at using a sub with them, but none of the subs I have tried have truly integrated bass, though some were pretty good like the MJ Ref1. Inevitably I always ended up going back to the speakers sans sub.

Not any more. I have managed to get my hands on a practically new Velodyne DD12 sub, and to cut to the chase it is far and away the best sub I have ever heard. The 1SC and Velodyne combo produces an astonishingly high level of sound quality which IMO is only beaten by very expensive speakers. They sound absolutely massive! The integration and sense of control and timing you get with this setup is awesome not to mention the sheer bass extension - flat to 15 Hz. It gives a truly visceral quality to any music. The bass is remarkably clean and dynamic too, I am hearing new things in virtually every track I put on. I have never heard deep bass so free from distortion, and it is vastly better than the leaden, thumpy bass quality you get from the likes of REL.