Help - Speakers + Hifi Shops

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Smithy32, Feb 25, 2014.

1. Smithy32

Smithy32

Hi,

I'm new to the speaker game and I'm after a pair of decent speakers so I thought I'd join up to see if I could get some advice? I have a budget of around £1K to include speakers + amp (or active speakers). I was thinking floor standers but if anyone has any other suggestions that would be great.

• Are there any brands that I should avoid?

• I'd like to try and listen to them before i buy. Are there any decent shops midlands based that anyone could recommend?

• Does anyone have an recommendations?

• I came across the B&W 684s that had good reviews. What do you think to these? I wouldn't be sure what amp to match up with these though.

Cheers!

Rich

Smithy32, Feb 25, 2014
  2. Smithy32

Tenson Moderator

Hi Rich,

What is your room size?

I think with this budget you are usually better to get stand-mount speakers. They tend to have less cabinet colouration as bigger cabinets need so much more work to keep them 'quiet'.

Active would be my first port of call, and some method to implement room correction would be ideal to get tight clean bass.

What is your source?

You could get a pair of ex-demo AudioSmile Kensai for £1k, but that still needs an amp. Will give you mid and treble to die for though :)

Tenson, Feb 25, 2014
  3. Smithy32

Jeff_C

I cannot give any recommendations on speakers because I have not heard that many of the currently available models. It's such a personal opinion when it comes down to what is good and what is not so good.

Tenson's advice to get something to suit your room size is good advice.

In and around Birmingham I have bought from these shops in the past. If they stock anything you are interested in hearing you could arrange an audition over the telephone.

Music Matters http://www.musicmatters.co.uk/
    Midland Audio Exchange http://www.midlandaudiox-change.co.uk/index_frontscreen.htm