Inlet filter for valve use?

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by penance, Jun 2, 2004.

  1. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    I know the use of IEC inlet filters is not so good for some equipment.
    I have an IEC inlet with built in filter (choke and cap type) is there any problem using this with a valve amp?
     
    penance, Jun 2, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. penance

    LiloLee Blah, Blah, Blah.........

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire
    It shouldn't cause any electrical problem. As to sound try it and let us know. Some like it others don't.
     
    LiloLee, Jun 2, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    ah, i know theres no electrical problems, after all they are safety approved ;)

    Ill be the guinee pig and report back on my findings:)
     
    penance, Jun 2, 2004
    #3
  4. penance

    LiloLee Blah, Blah, Blah.........

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire
    Many over at WAD don't like them and use this

    [​IMG]
     
    LiloLee, Jun 2, 2004
    #4
  5. penance

    penance Arrogant Cock

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol - armpit of the west.
    Thanks Lee
    maybe i will use that instead, easier to remove if i dont like the effects.:)
     
    penance, Jun 3, 2004
    #5
  6. penance

    LiloLee Blah, Blah, Blah.........

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire
    With these type of filters, they are so cheap that it is usually recommended to put them on everything except the hifi. Kill the noise at source rather than try and filter it, and maybe have detrimental effects, on the hifi.
     
    LiloLee, Jun 3, 2004
    #6
  7. penance

    BlueMax

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Coast of UK
    Hello Lee
    What is your view on using ferrites at the plug end of everything connected to the mains except the hi-fi equipment?
    Idea is to stop the RFI/EMI entering the mains in the first place.

    Thanks
     
    BlueMax, Jun 9, 2004
    #7
  8. penance

    I-S Good Evening.... Infidel

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In a world of pain
    Ferrites will only do so much. A filter like the one Lee suggests will start to operate at much lower frequency and so by the time you get up into the MHz range the level of attenuation is rather higher. Of course, nothing stops you using ferrites as well, for a little extra effect.
     
    I-S, Jun 9, 2004
    #8
  9. penance

    LiloLee Blah, Blah, Blah.........

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire
    Wot'e'zed above:D
     
    LiloLee, Jun 9, 2004
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.