mission 753 (non freedom) + 2x audiolab 8000p good match

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by pietfriet, Sep 29, 2009.

1. pietfriet

pietfriet

Hi.

I am planning to buy new amps to drive my mission 753 (non freedom) speakers. I heard they need good power to bring the best sound. At the moment it's connected to a 5.1 Pioneer vsx-ax3 receiver 70watts I'm interested in buying two used audiolab 8000p amps. I want to Bi-Amp the two 8000p's and connect them to my mission speakers. (Offcourse with the bridge removed on the back).
    [​IMG]
    Since the speakers are 100w and the audiolab amps are both 100w will it work? Or will it blow the speakers? If I bi-amp the two 100w amps will the speakers get 200w ?? I am new to biamping and stuff, so any info is welcome. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2009
    pietfriet, Sep 29, 2009
  2. pietfriet

bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

hi

the amp driving the tweeters will use less than 1 watt of it's power. The bass cones use more power.

Passive bi-amping (what you're thinking of) can make good results - but it's important that the amps have independant volume controls on them - or you are likely to end up with far too much treble.

Also would reccomend a single amplifier of the best quality you can afford at your price point. This might be worth consideration -

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Meridian-551-...iers?hash=item3ca5ff7a2d&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

bottleneck, Sep 29, 2009
  3. pietfriet

Sonusthree Coaxial Kid

Is this something you've experienced?

Using two identical power amplifiers, not overdriven, should make no difference to the amount of treble. It's still the same signal being applied and effected by the same gain, just free of any effects caused by loading it with the more power hungry bass/mid drivers.

I'm not familiar with the 8000p. Can they be bridged to provide more power?

Sonusthree, Sep 29, 2009
  4. pietfriet

yes.

bottleneck, Sep 29, 2009
  5. pietfriet

Dev Moderator