My DIY PowerAmp

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by drummerjohn, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    Hi, I'm new and feeling a bit out of my depth after looking at all the fantastic systems on here.

    Anyhoo... I'm doing stuff on the cheap as it were.

    I got the hankering to get into listening to quality stereo again. I have had Denon & Sony AV AMPs but never been that happy with the stereo sound quality.

    I use a PC to output the sound using ASIO as I have about 100GB of music in FLAC\WAV\MP3 format.

    Saw two BK Power Amps - OMP300 barebones on Ebay - £140. Bought them and mounted them onto a chassis and made a temporary backplate.

    It feeds my Monitor Audio BR5s. What a difference! Music is handled with pure ease and openness.

    Specs of each amp are:
    R.M.S. Watts into 4 Ohms 310W
    R.M.S. Watts into 8 Ohms 220W
    3dB Power Bandwidth 1Hz - 100Khz(STD)
    Damping Factor >300
    Slew Rate 60/uS
    Full Power t.h.d. 0.0035%
    T.h.d. Typical 0.0008%
    Input Sensitivity 500mV(STD)
    Input Impedance 10K Ohms
    S/N Ratio 110dB
    Weight 4.8Kg
    Size - Depth 330 x 175 x 102mm

    [​IMG]

    And yes that's twin & earth for speaker cable.
     
    drummerjohn, Sep 13, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. drummerjohn

    lbr monkey boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a happy place
    Love it :)
     
    lbr, Sep 13, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. drummerjohn

    Dev Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex, UK
    Ditto:).
     
    Dev, Sep 14, 2009
    #3
  4. drummerjohn

    themadhippy seen it done it smokin it

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    by the cross
    They take me back,had a load of BK modules ( 2.5kw worth) about 20 years ago,they took all sorts of abuse,even when some idiot managed to get the outputs and inputs round the wrong way frying the output stage of the mixing desk ,shorted speaker outputs and being plugged into dodgey electricity ,they just carried on working,biggest hassle was the on board fuses ,soon cured that with panel mounted fuses..
     
    themadhippy, Sep 14, 2009
    #4
  5. drummerjohn

    amazingtrade Mad Madchestoh fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    It looks a home made bomb ;(

    Love the twin power supplies I cannot imagine what that would sound like with rock and dance. It looks like boith channels are completly equal so I bet there is a very nice soundstage there too.

    What are you using as a pre amp?
     
    amazingtrade, Sep 15, 2009
    #5
  6. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    My PC has an Maudio Revolution sound card - using that.

    Looking to buy a dedicated DAC like a Beresford or Cambridge Audio. Any opinions on that?
     
    drummerjohn, Sep 15, 2009
    #6
  7. drummerjohn

    bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks
    bottleneck, Sep 15, 2009
    #7
  8. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    Thanks. They're a bit expensive. :( But they look fantastic.

    I only do cheap. I was look at £130 maximium. Something better than my sound card.
     
    drummerjohn, Sep 16, 2009
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.