new to forum, i have an idea

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by RevJim, Sep 13, 2008.

1. RevJim

RevJim

Hi folks,

I am at a time of life when I have a little free time for hobbies. In my younger days I had a reasonable hi-fi, Systemdek turntable, NAD 3130, AR18bx's, monster cable etc.

The amp died after an accident while redecorating :(
    I looked for a replacement but couldn't find what I wanted, then I came across gainclone's on the net. Being an electrical engineer, I figure this would be a nice replacement for the power, I'm still looking for a pre-amp for my turntable that I can build at reasonable cost.

However, the speakers died long ago, the AR problem of rotting foam surround and I would like to try and build a pair of small bookshelf speakers, I've looked through the sticky and have a few ideas but if anyone can post further links, that would be cool.

As I use the PC for most stuff these days, the idea of replacing the little PC speakers with a small pair of 'proper' speakers really appeals to me. I know mp3's are a lossy format, I also use flac and ogg for my music, so super expensive drivers would be pointless.

So has anyone build a small pair of speakers for this task?

RevJim

RevJim, Sep 13, 2008
  2. RevJim

DavidF

https://www.audio-forums.com/as-rediect/showthread.php?t=19969

Have you read this?

The speakers Zanash has leant me are really quite good.

They have made me think a lot about ta project for apir in the future.....

I ahve to look into the desgn myself as many people are giving me ideas on design and construction.....Petes were (are ) a single driver design but there are othe ways....

As I say the pair I was leant were comparable with my ruarks which retailed arouind £800 at one time.....so the potential is quite interesting.

Welcome btw.

DavidF, Sep 13, 2008
  3. RevJim

DavidF

edit; I wouild head fror floorstanders if you can.

DavidF, Sep 13, 2008
  4. RevJim

RevJim

Thanks.