Newbie - Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by leehaynes, Jan 6, 2005.

1. leehaynes

leehaynes

Hi all,

I'm new to the home cinema scene and am looking to invest in some kit to get me started. Firstly i am after an amp/av receiver either new or used but want the best kit available for £200 - any ideas?

Secondly, i will obviously need speakers too, again, another £200 max for all speakers inc sub. Again, i wan't the best kit possible for my money and would consider new or used.

Hope someone can help as it's a bit of a minefield out there when i don't really know what i'm looking for.

Thanks guys.

Lee

leehaynes, Jan 6, 2005
  2. leehaynes

ANOpax ESL-Meister

Hello Lee and welcome to the forum.

It's nice to see you here, but I suspect that you'll get a lot more help from the denizens of avforums . The reason is that although many zerogainers have a/v systems, most of the chat on here is two channel related.

As far as you budgets are concerned, secondhand will be the only way to go to get something decent for your £400.

And as it so happens, a nice man familiar to many ZGers, John Jeffries, has a s/h set of B&W speakers for £260 at the moment right here . Its a DM602, CC6, DS6, AS6 setup and should see you right. I know the price is a bit outside your budget but he's usually willing to do a deal so you may get some money off. As to the AV receiver - sorry i can't help.

reg

:Quad:

ANOpax, Jan 6, 2005
  3. leehaynes

mr cat Member of the month

I've also sent you a PM... :)

mr cat, Jan 6, 2005
  4. leehaynes

Tom Alves

FWIW I use Acoustic Energy AEGO P5 Mk II. It comes a complete package so all you need is a TV and DVD player. Considering I use it mainly to watch opera and prog rock concerts I can honestly say the sound is not at all bad. The downside is that it's a complete package so any upgrading will be harder but apart from that I can thoroughly endorse it. Oh and it's cheap, as little as £438