Philips HP890's hopefully tomorrow.

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by amazingtrade, Aug 16, 2003.

1. amazingtrade

amazingtrade Mad Madchestoh fan

My Sen's are driving me mad now as I can't listen to any bass driven music at all, I think the distortion is getting worse. And I can't really afford the Grado's at £100 as I am a student after all. I've read so much good stuff about the HD890 and I am convinced they will be better than my Senhieser HD495s. People have compared to them to the HD600's although they admit they are not as good. Thanks Paul for originaly suggesting these.

If I can buy them from Dixons tomorrow I shall write a review when they have burned in.

amazingtrade, Aug 16, 2003
  2. amazingtrade

GAZZ

I woun't buy a battery from Dixons, let alone anything else!!!

GAZZ

GAZZ, Aug 17, 2003
  3. amazingtrade

davidcotton prog rocker, proud of it!

You and me both Gazz, sworn never ever to buy anything from dixons again...

davidcotton, Aug 17, 2003
  4. amazingtrade

I've just bought them, btw I hate Dixons too, but they were cheapest place that sold them which is unusual. They are very comfortable so far. The sound is so far very full on, the music seems to flow effortlesly where as before it always seemed to strugle. The bass is deep but NOT to deep that it spoils the mid range. The treble seems a tad bright so far but I think thats just because it needs burning in. So far I prefer them to my HD495's.

The cable seems very high quality as well, its much thicker than the HD495's.

The only thing I am worried about is these phones go very very loud without disorting so I better watch them volumes levels.

The drums have a lot of impact, you get real bass with these, the HD495's just produced bass which bordered into mid range. So far very impressed but I am writing this as in my first audition. A proper review will appear in the review section later.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2003
    amazingtrade, Aug 17, 2003