Speakers for small Room

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by lukasdesign, Sep 12, 2014.

1. lukasdesign

lukasdesign

Small Room Speaker Choice
    Hello All,

I am totally new to the HiFi World. I will place the equipment in a 3.5m long and 4m wide room. That is a relatively small space of 14 sm.

In the room I have a 1.5 meter long and 0.5 high long HiFi furniture. Next to which I plan to place the speakers. First I was considering stand mounted speakers but I realize that with stands it will take away the same space as some smaller floor standers. I narrowed down my Amp & CD player choice down to the Creek Evo 50. Good reviews and retailer recommendation, as honestly I could not really here major difference to the Rega Brio or Arcam A19 ensembles.

No I have to narrow down the speaker choice. I am quite tempted to go with floor standers. the issue is that I would like to place them around 20cm-30cm from the rear wall and around 150-180cm from each other next to a 150cm*50cm*50cm Hifi furniture.

Furthermore the door to the room will be parallel to the speakers. This means that entering the room the speakers are pretty much the first thing visible. So I have to leave room between door and speaker.

I was reading that the Rega S3 where built with small rooms in mind. I also like the idea of their side mounted bass speaker. However, my furniture is 50 cm tall, so if I place the speakers with the bass opening inwards I suppose it will interfere with the furniture? The speaker is only 80cm high...would that be a problem? So will I be forced to place them facing outside?

What could be nice alternatives (same price region) to the RS3? They should be matching well with the creek and working well in that small space.

Music: 60's, 70's Rock, Hard Rock, Alternative Rock, and quite some classic (Symphonic works)

Thanks for some advises!

lukasdesign, Sep 12, 2014
  2. lukasdesign

Tenson Moderator