Thoughts on audio system for video editing

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by smintel, Sep 23, 2012.

1. smintel

smintel

Hi, I am a freelance video editor - for mostly fairly low budget documentary work. I have a home edit system - basically a mac running final cut pro, and I normally edit in my bedroom using headphones. However I have just ordered some cheapish monitor speakers ( Avid Studiophile AV40 version II UK - £94 from Amazon) which seem to have good reviews. I'm quite excited about trying them out when they arrive, and will use them when working in my bedroom. However I also sometimes have clients over, and then I set the edit system up in my living room and have up to now been using my Tannoy Cheviot speakers and Onix amp for sound.

I'm not completely clued up about speakers (the Tannoy cheviots were a lucky find - I'm not a audio geek ) but as I understand it, the desirable characteristic of speakers for video work (or sound production in general ) is a flat frequency response so that the speakers aren't distorting the sound you are creating. The Tannoys always sound lovely, but I have no real idea of how suitable or not they are as 'monitoring' speakers, and whether in this respect they would be performing better or worse than the Studiophile speakers that are much cheaper but designed specifically for this purpose.

Would be very interested in what people think on this!

many thanks,

Sam.

smintel, Sep 23, 2012
  2. smintel

RobHolt Moderator

Good morning Sam,

Tannoy dual concentric models have a long history of use for studio monitoring, therefore you're in a fortunate position owning a pair of Cheviots. IIRC the Cheviot is part of the HPD range which used foam suspension rings on the drivers. These foams deteriorate with age so it's well worth getting them checked.

The Tannoys will sound very different to the small active monitors - fuller, warmer and richer but an excellent contrast.