Which £400-£800 Speakers for Cyrus Integrated Amp???

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by bertiedootes, Dec 28, 2007.

1. bertiedootes

bertiedootes

Hi Everyone

Newbie here. Ignorant one at that! But learning.

I am looking to dip my toes into Cyrus and have my eyes on some second hand kit (hopefully 8vs2 and CD6s or 8x) and then move onwards and upwards from there.

The source and amp is not the problem of choice for me,...however I am looking to buy new or second hand speakers on an initial budget. Have heard B&W 685's/Dynaudio 42's and a PMC GB1 with the 6vs and CD6 in local demo and as I am more than likely gonna buy second hand then demonstartions may not be poss.

To be honest I am leaning towards the Dyns as I am thinking of using them as rears with a future AV set up once I get the chance to really upgrade in the future from this start up. My worry is many peoples views on Cyrus seem to be 'bass light' and 'thin'.

The majority of music I listen to is not always electric guitar/heavy deep bass dance - but rather accoustic, vocals, blue grass, Harry Connic Jnr big big band swing. But to be honest, my taste is as wide as The Sex Pistols to Sinatra!

Does anyone have any thoughts on the speakers that can give me detail, depth, sound stage and some bass but not too bright. Those Dyns sure sounded extremly detailed to me at the time and the price is about right for the moment for buying new.

bertiedootes, Dec 28, 2007
  2. bertiedootes

Neil

If you like the Dyns I'd recommend looking for some second hand contours 1.1 s 2s or 3s (3s probably out of budget) They are a huge step up from the 42s - the same "house sound" but much more of everything.

Neil, Dec 29, 2007
  3. bertiedootes

Tenson Moderator