XLR ics from RCA ones?

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by michaelab, Jan 30, 2004.

  1. michaelab

    michaelab desafinado

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I have several pairs of Musical Fidelity NuVista ICs which I've made up myself from a longish roll of the cable I got a while back. They're al RCA terminated with Bullet plugs atm but I will soon be needing some balanced ICs.

    The NuVista cable is a coaxial cable with a central conductor and two braided shields separated by a layer of PTFE. Now on the RCA cables I've just twisted the two sheilds together to use for the return but could I use them separately and make a balanced cable out of them?

    Michael.
     
    michaelab, Jan 30, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. michaelab

    Graham C

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    so you have:

    centre, screen 1, screen 2

    going from inner core to outer layer?? Thats 3 conductors?
    Are you thinking of using the centre wire as ground?
    You would have no noise rejection because the signal
    is on the outer screen and would pickup kak while the
    inner screen would see a different signal. Balanced works
    because the 2 inputs [hot and cold] see identical intereference
    and the wire properties are closely matched. The balanced circuit
    subtracts the noise on the cold input from the noise on the hot and - voila! interference vanishes [or more correctly, is cancelled out].
    If the 2 wires are non identical properties, the noise will not be
    identical and therefore kak(A) - kak(B) will be non-zero...

    In theory you should use identical wires for the inputs, but who's to say what will make it sound better or worse..? As long as the 3 wires are seperate it won't fry anything to try it
     
    Graham C, Jan 30, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. michaelab

    michaelab desafinado

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Correct. I was thinking of using the centre wire as the "hot" wire but now I've read your post I realise why that's a bit silly.

    I think I'll just get some proper balanced cables when the time comes :)

    Michael.
     
    michaelab, Jan 30, 2004
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.