transport for derek shek nos-dac

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Hodgesaargh, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. Hodgesaargh

    Hodgesaargh

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    I have a Derek Shek nos-dac, still very happy with it, but my Rotel CD play I've used as a transport has started to pack in - well the CD drawer is anyway. I think the teeth on the cogs that move it in and out have worn out and sometimes I have to lever the drawer out with a knife!

    Can anyone recommend a good transport?
     
    Hodgesaargh, Mar 7, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hodgesaargh

    Hodgesaargh

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Also, my DAC is the old white version with the LED inside (LED no longer lights up). Is the black one a big improvement?
     
    Hodgesaargh, Mar 7, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Hodgesaargh

    Mr_Sukebe

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    I use a Meridian 500 with mine, which cost £400 s/h. There certainly was an improvement when compared to using my Pioneer DVD player, though the level of it was not great from a cost/benefits point of view. I don't think that I could justify spending a huge amount more on one.
    One interesting point to add, the Meridian allows exchange of power cables. I found that changing the stock unit to a WM sourced cable (NOT cheap, but IMO well worth it), that the improvement was bigger than the change to the dedicated transport.

    Other transports worth considering are Teac VRDS units.
     
    Mr_Sukebe, Mar 8, 2006
    #3
  4. Hodgesaargh

    hifikrazy

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Id get another Rotel, Marantz, Philips that uses a CDM4/19 like your current Rotel probably does. Thats the cheapest option. (actually you can get replacement cog but they are almost as expensive as a whole 2nd hand unit) If you want to spend more then something a bit more solid like a Teac VRDS re-clocked.
     
    hifikrazy, Mar 8, 2006
    #4
  5. Hodgesaargh

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    it will take a very good transport....ie £1k There are a number of differences in sound between the two ..and a great many things you can do to squeeze a little more from either unit..[without great expence] I found the transparent one a little more laid back than the black one, but for the cost both are good value if you like the flavour of the sound. They are never going to be dac64 etc but they will rive a lot of stuff a run for there money ..which for me is a good thing.
     
    zanash, Mar 8, 2006
    #5
  6. Hodgesaargh

    chris1968

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marsden
    i feed my transparent nos with signal from a pioneer PDS904 (ref other posts both heve been tweaked by Zanash) to good effect. I'm told the pioneer stable platter transport is highly regarded and its certainly givving up more following the tweaks.

    IMO its worth looking out for a Pioneer - never had an issue with mine.

    Dunno what your current cabling is but i'd also recomend you consider a Zanash supplied CDP - NOC i/c - for me it was the most significant 'upgrade' in all the changes that were made (digital and analogue i/c's changed to Zanash's silver stuff, CDP and NOS tweaked with Schottky's and Wimas / internal wiring now silver, casework damping etc.......etc!)
     
    chris1968, Mar 8, 2006
    #6
  7. Hodgesaargh

    Hodgesaargh

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    I have a silver digital cable actually, in fact I got it from someone on here I think. It has silver bullet plugs. Made a difference to sound - a bit more focused I think.
     
    Hodgesaargh, Mar 8, 2006
    #7
  8. Hodgesaargh

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    Remworking the dac helps also changing the PLL values and using quality parts make a slight difference.
    Building a top quality psu for the nos pays dividends too, I believe Zanash has knocked up a pretty fair one, documented on here also.
     
    wadia-miester, Mar 8, 2006
    #8
  9. Hodgesaargh

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Damn thing keeps frying the LC Audio reg boards or I should say the LCAudio reg boards keep frying themselves...number four is about to go back. All the curcuit and layout has been checked by LC Audio It appears that different parts of the super reg have failed on each one. The last one the opamp blew sending a jet of hot gas into a cap searing off the plastic coating. The first that went fried its positve mosfet and the unit it was attached to full 30vdc into a 5vdc device ..and I wondered what the funny smell was!.

    I've decided to build a standard type psu with plenty of filtering before and after the regs...see how I get on. At leastits going to be reliable!
     
    zanash, Mar 8, 2006
    #9
  10. Hodgesaargh

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    Pete,

    Our regs can handle 2 amps constant, I use a minimum of 40kuf on a nos dac
     
    wadia-miester, Mar 8, 2006
    #10
  11. Hodgesaargh

    Fireman Jon

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've A/B'ed the black one vs. the older one and would say so, yes, tighter bottom and better detail. Neither of them were mine so I wasn't biased, honest.

    Jon
     
    Fireman Jon, Mar 8, 2006
    #11
  12. Hodgesaargh

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Yes that sound similar!
    WM....
    Off the top of your head what current does the NOS draw

    I wonder if thats the problem........Though I'd find it hard to believe the nos is drawing more than the LC boards can supply.
     
    zanash, Mar 9, 2006
    #12
  13. Hodgesaargh

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    I always build a psu thats way OTT,IMO the only way to really get some performance from the unit, as even in fairly hot spec (and stock psu which is usually 15v, 1 amp) pretty average at best can't understand why people really rave about this.
    What voltage are you suppling to the Dac Pete?
     
    wadia-miester, Mar 9, 2006
    #13
  14. Hodgesaargh

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    the nos III[black] was 14.5 vdc as suggested by the maker.

    I agree totally ..but the unit was built for someone else. I always go OTT [especially with trany ratings]. LC audio seem to be using the reg board to drive much higher loads. In one email they suggested a small secondary voltage torroidal ..but the board died before implimentation
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2006
    zanash, Mar 9, 2006
    #14
  15. Hodgesaargh

    leo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    TDA1543 takes about 50mA, its input voltage should be no higher than 8v
    What else is on that NOS dac board? CS8412/8414, reclocker etc?
     
    leo, Mar 9, 2006
    #15
  16. Hodgesaargh

    dcathro

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a few spare CDM4 drawers, if you want one.

    Just PM me with your address, and I will send you one.
     
    dcathro, Mar 9, 2006
    #16
  17. Hodgesaargh

    zanash

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Notts.
    Yep thats what I thought....cs81412 reclocker trent[?] not a lot more. I'm thinking that there's aweakness in the board design..as three units have had different failure modes. thats not to say the unit is bad ..they sound sublime whilst they work !
     
    zanash, Mar 9, 2006
    #17
  18. Hodgesaargh

    leo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any links or resistors on the board you could remove and feed say the dac chip direct by that LC audio reg? you'd obviously need to lower its output voltage if theres no other reg before the dac chip.
    Don't suppose theres any Oscon caps etc that the LC regs doesn't like, I know ALW's SR's don't like low ESR caps on the output but I wouldn't imagine it would fry the things:confused:
    Is there a website with any details for this dac?
     
    leo, Mar 9, 2006
    #18
  19. Hodgesaargh

    wadia-miester Mighty Rearranger

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond the 4th Dimension
    Interesting all the units I've seen come with a stock so called 10v psu thats actually gives 15v & 500 ma LOL!!!!
     
    wadia-miester, Mar 9, 2006
    #19
  20. Hodgesaargh

    Fireman Jon

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, well, pictures at least - www.sigtone.net

    Jon
     
    Fireman Jon, Mar 9, 2006
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.