Why do you visit audio forums?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by RobHolt, Sep 19, 2010.

1. RobHolt

RobHolt Moderator

Do you visit in order to learn, pick up tips and improve understanding?

Do you enjoy posting and pushing your POV ?

Is the social side important to you and do you enjoy feeling part of a community?

Do you like a good row, either watching car crash style of actively participating?
    Do you enjoy the threads that get heated and bad tempered?

Be honest! :)

What I'm getting at with these questions is examining the purpose of forums, particularly in todays changing market and with the established audio press shrinking by the day.

RobHolt, Sep 19, 2010
  2. RobHolt

Labarum

To learn what I can: to help where I can.

But at times the 'religious fervour' is amusing and at other times irritating.

Labarum, Sep 19, 2010
  3. RobHolt

Richard Dunn

I visit forum mostly to nag.

As you say the industry is changing, and I have been saying it for 5 years and at last some people are beginning to agree.

This was the first forum I joined about 5 years ago and Wigwam soon after and PFM soon after that. So I started posting about the way the industry needed to change and all the rip-offs and bullshits we had to put up with in the past, with a large percentage of them still with us. That is what started the rucks off that I was / am involved in, because the brainwashed sheep couldn't cope with it. So they formed packs and attacked and still do if allowed, though Rob has stopped a lot of it here.

I find it is a facet of human nature to blame the piano player rather than facing up to the tune, so I got booted from many forums at different times (this one for about 3 years until the management changed).